Music Monday – Augustines

I have a tendency to go back and re-listen to older bands/albums. I don’t know if it’s because I’m tired of the redundancy of everything “new” or if it’s because I lack motivation to actively search for bands that actually cater to my personal music taste…which is pretty unlikely because I spend at least three days a week reviewing bands I’ve never heard of and I’m bound to like something that’s thrown in that mix…

Anyway, I do like hearing about new bands, but that’s completely irrelevant because this isn’t a new band. At least not for me. Not really.

I heard the single “Book of James” a couple years back when the band was still using the full moniker We Are Augustines. “Chapel Song” came into my life not too long after that… Dug the tunes, but didn’t look into the band much further. But the distinctive vocalism of Billy McCarthy definitely clung to my memory and when I recently re-stumbled upon the band, I was officially hooked.

Think The National meets The Pixies meets a tiny bit of U2 earnestness, their self-titled LP is elevated to new heights after 2011’s Rest Ye Sunken Ships, which was hefty with introspect after McCarthy’s brother committed suicide. Augustines is a fully rounded collection that suggests the boys have seen brighter days, or at least carry the hope that they’ll come soon.

Augustines’ self-titled LP comes out February 4, with a US tour kicking off the following day. Seriously, go see these guys. And get this album. I’m not kidding.

FEBRUARY

5 – Vancouver, BC @ Venue

7 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos Crystal Ball Reading Room

8 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge

10 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent

11 – West Hollywood, CA @ The Troubadour

13 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar

15 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom

17 – Houston, TX @ House of Blues Bronze Peacock

18 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Bar-B-Q

19 – Dallas, TX @ House of Blues Cambridge Room

21 – New Orleans, LA @ Parish at House of Blues

22 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade

23 – Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge

25 – Durham, NC @ Motorco

26 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall

28 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle

MARCH

3 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom

5 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall

6 – Providence, RI @ Fete (Lounge)

7 – Rochester, NY @ The Club at Water Street

9 – Montreal, QC @ Belmont

11 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison

12 – Ann Arbor, MI @ Blind Pig

14 – Cleveland Heights, OH @ Grog Shop

15 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall

17 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry

18 – St. Louis, MO @ Firebird

19 – Kansas City, MO @ The Riot Room

21 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge

22 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Club Sound

Leave a Reply

