So This Is The New Year

And in familiar fashion, I’ve been putting off wrapping up this post. New year, new you? Maybe not quite. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to break my habit of procrastinating. But it can’t hurt to try…again? Right?

Anyway, it’s 2014 (WHAT THE HECK?) and I can honestly admit that I was so relieved to end last year. It was whirlwind of big events and milestones and while a handful of them were pretty exciting, I’m very happy to have them as memories and memories alone.

Let’s recap, shall we?:

Winter break ended. I went back to college and weekend shenanigans commenced:

IMG_3909

I took a trip to SF/Oakland to see my favorite band in the world with some of my most favorite people in the world:

IMG_4030

Eugene Shenanigans ensued…

IMG_4225

Spring Break came and we went to Disneyland:

IMG_4465

A group of babes took a getaway to Sunriver, Ore. and things got real weird:

IMG_4626

I went to Portland and saw my favorite band…again:

IMG_4782

We put Kahlua in our coffee for the Spring Game:

IMG_4814

This one rapper came to the U of O and I went to see him:

IMG_4951

I got doused in color for Holi Festival:

IMG_5022

I rocked out at Sasquatch 2013 for the 4th year in a row:

IMG_1268

I graduated:


IMG_1394

We got into the Comic Con spirit:


IMG_1440

I went to see Rogue Wave and it was amazing:

I crashed VidCon and met this little nugget:

IMG_5806

My soulmate cousin and I fulfilled our biggest dreams and saw One Direction in concert:

IMG_5849

I continued to act like a teeny-bopper and went to see Hanson:

I got to babysit these little girls and got them hooked on One Direction early on:

I went to Vegas for the first time and drank one of those ridiculously tall drinks:

IMG_6237

I went to visit my brother in Colorado and we drank out of mini pitchers:

IMG_6305

I saw Atlas Genius from a cool angle:

IMG_6352

Then I did it again in LA and it was even better:

I fell in love with my job and my coworkers:

IMG_6442

I went to Disneyland with two of my favorite people and we wore bows:

IMG_6775

I turned 23:

IMG_6679

After five years, I finally hung out with this guy:

IMG_6777

I did a thing:

IMG_6816

I started a super rad internship at this super rad place:

IMG_6958

I rung in the new year with these two cuties:

IMG_6909


Somewhere towards the end of the year I packed up my things and made the oh-so-lengthy trek to Los Angeles, which I’ve since made my new home. I crashed on a couch at a friend’s for a month but I’m now in the process of happily settling into a charming apartment with some badass chicks. It’s been a transition going from having financial aid to fall back on to nothing but yourself and your own personal motivation to afford the lifestyle you want. I’m not quite there yet, but I’m working on it.

No one will ever tell you that life is easy. And if they do, they’re lying and you should probably cut them out of your life. Life kicks you in the ass and stomps on your toes whenever it pleases and you just have to take it like a woman. You have to embrace change as its comes and work hard every day and hope that everything will fall into place. Sometimes it never will, but if it does, it’s certainly not at the snap of your fingers. But if you want something bad enough, you’ll keep working hard anyways.

2013 was a year of working hard and not getting much of a turn-around. But I did make big choices and big changes that will hopefully (eventually) reap big rewards. As much as we’d all love for there to be one, there is no easy route to take on the journey to make your dreams come true, but it can happen.

My internship with FILTER couldn’t have come at a better time. In all honesty, I was surprised to have snagged that gig, especially after I’d received few bites from other options. I was growing really discouraged in my post-graduation job hunt. But FILTER liked me enough and here I am, editing articles and writing blurbs about album releases. Spending time in that sort of environment is just what I was looking for, and the perks aren’t too shabby either.

I’m only 23. I don’t have even close to half of the answers to how you should live your life. Through experience, I have learned that most of your overall contentment comes from perspective and the people you choose to surround you. I’ve been lucky to have a steady stream of passionately driven people flowing through my life. Los Angeles isn’t always a friendly city, but as long as I can keep those certain people around, I think I’ll do just fine.

Happy New Year, all you crazies out there. 2014 is going to be a great one for all of us!

Leave a Reply

