Sasquatch! Music Festival 2013: A Recap

It’s been about three days since I said goodbye to the Gorge for what may have been the last time. It’s taken more effort than expected to come back to earth and get back into the flow of real-life. Amazing what a music festival can do to your soul. I felt completely transported into this fantasy world where nothing could go wrong — and nothing did. (And I swear no drugs were involved.)

The weekend was amazing, to say the least, with only a few set-backs which, in retrospect, weren’t all that bad at all. So here’s my attempt at a breakdown of what I did and who I saw…

IMG_0580

After nearly 9 hours of driving, waiting, and making various pit stops, we finally made it to the Gorge and were greeted by this gorgeous skyline.

IMG_0583

As a rite of passage, you wait for far too long in the line entering the campsite. Our wait was around 2 hours altogether. Why not kill time by cracking open a few beers? The first of too many PBRs over the weekend…

IMG_0584

We were eager to get our camp set up and get into “hang out” mode. As soon as the tents were up, the drinks were out and the weekend could officially start.

IMG_0626

The next day we had a few hours to kill before heading into the venue. It was drinking games galore at the campground.

IMG_0730

Finally getting into the venue and finding a prime spot on the lawn was the perfect kickoff to a great weekend of music. The Gorge amphitheater is such a gorgeous venue, it’s almost too hard to take it all in.

IMG_0824

The first glimpse of that main stage is always breathtaking. It really never gets old…

IMG_0837

Our cozy little section on the lawn.

IMG_0887

We snagged a great spot for Vampire Weekend and as people filtered out to see other bands, we inched our way so close to the front of the stage. They put on an amazing show. So happy to be able to see them again.

IMG_0946

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis pulled in a massive crowd for their set. They capped off the first night with crazy energy, lots of balloons, and even more confetti. And yes, I was that one person who yelled “Penis” during his quiet moment.

Day One bands I saw: Sea Wolf, ZZ Ward, Reignwolf, Japandroids, Strand of Oaks, Built to Spill, Father John Misty, Arctic Monkeys, Vampire Weekend, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis.

IMG_1134

Day two clouds made for a pretty view of the Gorge.

The day was full of great music. We wandered into the venue fairly early to secure a good spot on the lawn. We were also lucky enough to win weekend passes for the acoustic tent shows.

IMG_1196

Sigur Rós closed the night with a gorgeous set and an impressive light show.

Day Two bands I saw: Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Robert Delong, Atlas Genius (live and acoustic), JJ Grey & Mofro, Indians, Nancy & Beth, Michael Kiwanuka, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club (live and acoustic), Devendra Banhart, Caveman, Bloc Party, The xx, Surfer Blood, Sigur Rós.

IMG_1206

Day three was a big day for me, band-wise. I’d been introduced to so many great new bands thanks to the lineup and was so excited to get to see them live. Wake Owl was one of my favorites of the entire weekend. They’re just so lovely..

IMG_1207

The acoustic set for Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros was insane. The entire tent was packed and no one wanted the band to stop playing. I’m pretty sure they played one song more than they were supposed to, but I’m glad they did. Such great performers.

As we were walking out of the tent after their set, I saw Jade walking my direction, so of course I went up to her and told her how great she is and how much I love her band. She was so gracious and sweet and gave me a big hug. It was a beautiful moment!

IMG_1213

We beat the crowd again and stumbled upon a Bud Light girl giving out wristbands for free beer at the Kokanee tent by the  . Erin and I ended up saving so much money thanks to those wristbands. No way my bank account would have been happy after buying $12 beers all weekend…

IMG_1216

I ran into my friend Tristan during The Tallest Man on Earth. Tristan and I met almost 5 years ago via the Internet (yeah, it happens!) We met each other for the first time at Sasquatch 2011 and it was so fitting for us to meet again this year.

IMG_1241

I made my mother proud and stood in the pit at the main stage for Elvis Costello. This was the second time I saw him and he always puts on such a great show. He’s such an amazing talents and an icon to so many musicians. So happy he was invited to play!

IMG_5161

We made some sweet and adorable Canadian friends while we waited for Mumford & Sons. Thanks for the good time boys! I hope we get to see you all again soon.

IMG_1261

Mumford & Sons were my favorite show of the entire weekend. I can’t even begin to explain how wonderful they are to see live. It’s something you have to experience for yourself. To make their performance even more epic, they brought Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros out on stage for their final song of the night: a cover of Fleetwood Mac’s “The Chain”. Amazing.

Day Three bands I saw: Deep Sea Diver, Wake Owl, Youngblood Hawke, The Tallest Man on Earth, Radical Face, Dropkick Murphys, Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros (live and acoustic), Elvis Costello & the Imposters, Mumford & Sons, The Presets.

IMG_1276

Day four was a rainy one, but we weren’t thwarted by it one bit, although it was a downer. We knew we had to make our last day one of the best!

Luke Sital-Singh killed his set. Such a talented young man.. and terribly handsome.

IMG_1281

It rained for a few hours and finally let up late afternoon, thankfully.

IMG_1298

The Alt-J acoustic set was chilling. I’m definitely more of a fan now that I’ve heard them live..

IMG_1330

The Lumineers were my “cry” band of this year. There’s always one that moves me to the point of tears and they were the one.

IMG_1348All my middle school dreams came true when The Postal Service closed the night and the weekend. I’m still in disbelief that I was able to see them. Such a great and nostalgic set.

Day Four bands I saw: The Wild Feathers, Luke Sital-Singh, Horse Feathers, Ryan Bingham, Imagine Dragons, The Barr Brothers, Toro y Moi, Cake, The Lumineers, Alt-J (acoustic), The Postal Service.

47 bands and nearly 6 days later, I made it back to Eugene and began my slow recovery. Out of the four years that I’ve attended, this was by far the greatest Sasquatch experience. A lot of it had to do with the amazing group I went with. I’m so lucky to have such an awesome group of friends who love and appreciate music almost as much as I do (because we all know I’m obsessed..) I’ll never forget the memories we made and the experiences we shared. It was an unbelievable weekend and if I’m lucky enough to make it up again next year, I hope it’s just as great.

Leave a Reply

