My 2013 List of Recommendations

Image

As I’ve grown older, the urgency to come up with my own New Year’s resolutions has become, well… less urgent. Time and I haven’t been the best of friends, so I try not to think too much about another year gone and how, despite my valant efforts, I keep tacking another year onto my life. Most of you know that I suffer from Peter Pan syndrome.. and I may very well be dealing with a very premature mid-life crisis. (What is the official term for that for a 22-year-old, anyway?)

This year should will be a big year for me. I’m wrapping up my college career (yikes!). I’m updating my résumé (monthly, might I add). I’m applying for jobs across the country (primarily the West coast, who am I kidding?). It’s the year of big decisions and potentially big growth (hopefully not to my waistline..). I’m nearing that bridge that will officially lead me into adulthood and I think I could use some guidelines to keep me on the right track.

I’ve never been a fan of the word “resolution”. It just feels so… resolute. It’s very final. It’s very “I’m going to stick to this and if I fail then all is lost!”. I don’t like that, because everyone fails. I mean, let’s be honest. Resolutions are mostly thought of as something you do for a month, maybe two. You kick yourself for a couple days for lagging in your goals, but then you eventually shrug it off and continue on with the year, leaving those resolutions far behind. So really, we’re kind of ruining the validity of the word. We commit ourselves so tightly to the idea of “resolutions” that if/when we do slip-up, we feel worse about ourselves. I don’t know about you, but feeling bad about myself doesn’t make me a better “me”. It makes me feel like a worse me. So, how about we stop that?

Instead of sticking to a strict list of “resolutions”, I am going to kick-start my year of 2013 with a list of recommendations. These are things that I already do or would like to do that are entirely realistic for my lifestyle. If I slip-up, which I will, I won’t get upset about it. But this list will be an accessible and virtually tangible reminder of everything I aim to accomplish this year. So, here we go!

Recommendations for 2013:

  1. Read more. I totally slacked on my reading in 2012 and maybe only finished 5 novels. 10? 20? 50 books for 2013? Doesn’t matter, so long as I read more than 5.
  2. Keep up the good eating habits. My time in France did great things for my health. I still love my sweets, but sticking to the balanced diet I already have will keep my tummy and my body happy.
  3. Be more active! Always on everyone’s mind at the start of a new year. I don’t plan to become a marathon runner or a super toned gymrat. But going to a yoga class or going on a hike every so often would be good for me.
  4. Aim high in your future career. Don’t settle for less, shoot for the best. I plan to work hard to get to where I want to be. I may not get all the way there come December, but as long as I’m on the right track, we should be golden.
  5. Put more effort into academics. I’ve always been a “do-enough-to-get-by” student, but it would be SO GREAT to wrap up my final classes with high marks.
  6. Be more productive on the Internet. I’m very active online and I don’t think it’s a bad thing. It helps me with networking and research and I don’t plan to cut back. But I should make more strides to make a stronger, more professional presence. Like keeping up with this blog for example…
  7. Stay interested. Stay passionate. In class, at work, with family and friends. Easy enough.
  8. Don’t be so quick to open your heart. Without diving too deep into the romantic chambers of my personal life, 2012 was a record-breaking year for heartbreak, in relationships and out of. It’s okay to be a little guarded.
  9. Develop stronger friendships. I value my friends more than most things, but I can certainly put some more effort into those relationships. Gotta remember to spread the love this year!
  10. Rely on yourself more than others. This maybe ties into number 8, but 2012 was a big letdown year because I stopped relying on myself to get things done. I’m smart and capable and don’t need to be babied to be successful. Time to work on this whole independent woman thing.

See? A perfectly reasonable list of things to keep in mind as I start this new year.

Feel free to write your own list and share it with me!

Happy New Year all! Make it great in your own way.

Leave a Reply

